Once Upon a Time VIII: snowstorm, what snowstorm?

onceup8200

Rejoice, magically and fantastically-inclined folk! It has come to my attention that Once Upon a Time Challenge has begun. It is hosted by Carl over at Stainless Steel Droppings to celebrate the beginning of spring and this year it lasts from March 21st to June 21st.

This is my first time participating, and I am going to use it wisely to read some really good fantasy or mythology. Or maybe I’ll just get some beer and sit reading sagas for three months. Or maybe I will finally read Little, Big (which currently holds the Longest On TBR Pile title at my house).

There are several participation tiers to suit a variety of tastes. I am going to take a somewhat easy route and do Quest the First.

once8jquest1

This means I’ll be reading at least 5 books that fit somewhere within Once Upon a Time categories. Here are some contenders at the moment (subject to change by the management):

1. Fox Woman by Kij Johnson

2. Way of Kings and Words of Radiance by Brandon Sanderson

3. Talus and the Frozen King by Graham Edwards

4. Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

5. Little, Big by John Crowley (oh, why do I even try)

Basically, I am using this challenge as an excuse to read some good fantasy. I’ve been leaning rather science-fictionally lately, but I think my brain would enjoy reading some stuff with swords and spells that makes the peoples fall down!

9 comments

    1. The funny thing is that I started it once, thought ‘oh, this is neat’, and then… promptly forgot about it. This was at least six years ago. Then I would pass it by in stores and libraries, sigh and think how I should really, really get back to it. It’s the weirdest thing. I blame fairies.

    1. Haha no promises on that one. I can see myself reading everything else on that list and completely forgetting about the Crowley. ‘Tis the fairy curse.

  1. Welcome to the challenge! This is my fourth year and it’s always fun…and a good motivator to finally get to that book I meant to read forever! I finally read Lord of the Rings last year as part of OUaT. I hope your reading is equally successful! 🙂

    1. Thank you! Oh, LOTR. Now I have this wild plan to only read Tolkien. I probably won’t, not soon enough for my annual LOTR reread.

  2. I only recognize Brandon Sanderson’s work in your pile of books. So I look forward to hearing about these new-to-me authors through your blog as we participate in Once Upon A Time. I love this reading event and I believe this is my third year. Such a fun challenge with no pressure.

Leave a Reply

