Summer releases create exponential TBR pile growth

I can’t seem to settle down long enough to finish a book these days, so all I can do is read lists of books I will be reading once I am able to do said settling down. There is a nice list of summer releases over at io9 (although can we please stop sending people to buy books only from Amazon?), and there are a few I am really looking forward to:

causalangel1) Causal Angel by Hannu Rajaniemi. I love The Quantum Thief. It’s so strange, and yet I love it so much. I have The Fractal Prince on my shelf too, and the completion of this trilogy would be the perfect excuse to read all three at once.

2) Authority by Jeff Vandermeer. Oh hell yes. Reading now (I mean, keep picking it up, getting excited about having picked it up, and running around in glee for hours without actually reading it).

3) My Real Children by Jo Walton. Same situation as with Authority. Honestly, Jo Walton can write a phone book or rental advertisements, and I’ll still read them.

4) Skin Game by Jim Butcher. The new Harry (the other Harry)! Enough gemmafilessaid.

5) Half a King by Joe Abercrombie, already very briefly reviewed here.

6) And lastly, the unexpected find: We Will All Go Down Together by Gemma Files.  It’s a) published by ChiZine and b) set in Toronto.  My home city remains one of the best settings for speculative fiction! (Maybe because they have a really amazing sci-fi/fantasy bookstore?)

 

One comment

  1. “I can’t seem to settle down long enough to finish a book these days, so all I can do is read lists of books I will be reading once I am able to do said settling down. ” Hahahahaha. Oh man. I always feel so absurd when I go through this phase. But yeah, I can relate.

    My Real Children and Authority are high on my “can’t wait to read” list too. I’ve still never read any Abercrombie or Butcher though.

    Interested to hear more about We Will All Go Down Together.

Leave a Reply

