Short Story Sunday, 5.4.14: Yu and Granta #127

yu

I gushed about Charles Yu’s Sorry Please Thank You here a couple of years ago.  Last month, I picked up his earlier short story collection called Third Class Superhero. It’s pretty classic Yu: he has a particular style and particular way of writing short stories, and he does it well. I found the pieces in Third Class Superhero to be a bit more homogeneous than his later stuff. Some of them are quite beautiful, but overall this volume did not make much of an impression on me. Maybe I should reread Sorry Please Thank You to see if his later stories are still quite as good as I remember them to be.

My read this afternoon will be this:

0504141405

Granta #127: Japan. Looks like a good lineup of authors (click to embiggen if need be):

0504141411

I, of course, have a soft spot for Japanese literature or stories about Japan. It was my third country of residence (albeit for a shorter amount of time than the others).

Leave a Reply

