A feeble attempt to decimate my ARC pile

The ARC situation at home is once again out of control. I attempted to make neat stacks out of ARCs and galleys, which made them look even more intimidating and despair-inducing. So I just picked a handful that I am planning on tackling in the next week or so. Let us assume this is 1/10th of my ARC collection (that’s probably a lie, but let’s pretend I’m bad at math). If I get through this pile, I will successfully achieve my first ARC collection decimation.

This initial pile is mostly new stuff:

0605141826

Four are bookstore events-related, so you can say they are work-related. That sounds a bit silly, since anything book-related is also work-related. A few are already out (but at least not in paperback!). Follow me as I attempt to tackle this ARC construction while being distracted and sidetracked by the re-read of the Dresden Files, new releases that look better than old ARCs, random ancient sci-fi that looks better than all of the above, and works of Turgenev that I always want to read when it’s summer and nice outside.

7 comments

  1. Those feels. I’m scratching and clawing my way out of the dungeon I built out of ARCs. Want to finish reading 40 in 7 weeks. I don’t know why I even try anymore.

    1. That’s pretty ambitious! I want to try at least starting ARCs to see if I like them. I’m sure I have plenty of books in the house that I wouldn’t actually like.

      1. I know the feeling, it’s because of that goal I started abandoning books I don’t at the very least feel interested in. Reading time’s far too limited.

Leave a Reply

