Reading update: Brust with more Brust and some more Brust

hawkbrustI apologize for falling into a sink hole of Real Life this week and not posting anything longer than what you should read while you wait for the new Game of Thrones book. Work has been extremely busy, my laptop is still out of commission, and most nights I don’t really want to do anything but sit and read something fun. Which brings me to my next point: at least four people on staff are now reading all of Steven Brust’s Vlad Taltos books. It’s an epidemic. There is a new one coming out next week, in case you want to join us in our reading/rereading obsession.

I have a terrible confession to make: I had not read a single book by Brust until two days ago, when I got The book of Jhereg (my friend this morning: ‘You have never read Brust?? I feel like I have failed you.’). Well, do not worry, I have already plowed through Jhereg, Yendi, and Teckla. This reading is cutting into my sleep time, and it almost cut into my being-at-work time one morning. I doubt I will review these, unless I do a reread, but there are plenty of delightful write-ups out there: Little Red Reviewer has a few blog posts (you can start with The Book of Jhereg, if you want), and Jo Walton did a series of posts on these at tor.com as well.

2 comments

  1. Brust’s Vlad Taltos books are my go-to comfort reads. they are my anxiety cure, I can just climb in and be surrounded by awesome. Can’t wait to get home, Dzur is waiting for me.

    Hawk is coming out next week? Jeez, where did the summer go?

Leave a Reply

