Short Story Sunday, 1/17

Welcome back to Short Story Sunday! This is where I list a few best short stories I’ve read this week, with links where applicable.

This week has been somewhat light on reading altogether, except for the 24 in 48 Readathon this weekend. I only read a few short stories this week, but the good news is that most of them were excellent:

Lotus Face and the Fox by Nghi Vo (Uncanny # 8, Jan-Feb 2016). Uncanny is probably my favorite short fiction magazine right now. Pretty much every story I read in it resonates with me. The subscription is worth every penny.

Girl In Blue Dress (1881) by Sunil Patel (Fantastic Stories, Jan-Feb 2016). I love flash fiction because it often packs such an impact in just a few paragraphs. It’s a powerful, perfect piece.

Finally, an older story that in many ways is one of the most perfect stories I’ve ever read: A Study in Emerald by Neil Gaiman (originally appeared in Shadows Over Baker Street anthology and later collected in Gaiman’s collection Fragile Things, which is where I read it; it is now available on his website, hence the link). This story is why I love Neil Gaiman as a short form writer. It is so good. It is good whether you are a Sherlock fan or a Lovecraftian horror fan, or both, or neither. Read it, it’s awesome.

 

Leave a Reply

